The Ole Ball Game

Who gets the RBI?

Anonymous asked: Runner on 3rd.

Pitcher throws a wild pitch or catcher gives up a passed ball.

Runner on 3rd scores.

Does the batter get credit for an RBI?

Rick answered: Thank you for your question.

Rule 9.04 runs batted in:

A run batted in is a statistic credited to a batter whose action at bat caused one or more runs to score, as set forth in this rule 9.04.

a) the official scorer shall credit the batter with a run batted in for every run that scores

1) unaided by an error and as part of a play begun by the batter's safe hit (including a home run), sacrifice bunt, sacrifice fly, infield out or fielder's choice, unless Rule 9.04 (b) applies;

2) by reason of the batter becoming a runner with the bases full(because of a base on balls, an award of first base for being touched by a pitched ball or for interference or obstruction; or

3) when, before two are out, an error is made on a play on which a runner from third base ordinarily would score.

b) the official scorer shall credit a run batted in

1) when the batter grounds into a force double play; or

2) when a fielder is charged with an error because the fielder muffs a throw at first base that would have completed a force double play.

c) the official scorer's judgment must determine whether a run batted in shall be credited for a run that scores when a fielder holds the ball or throws to the wrong base. Ordinarily, if the runner keeps going, the official scorer should credit a run batted in; if the runner stops and takes off again when the runner notices the misplay, the official scorer should credit the run as scored on a fielder's choice.

In the scenario you describe, the batter has no part in the action that caused the runner from third base to score, thus no RBI.

Yours in baseball,


Comments for Who gets the RBI?

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Mar 16, 2019
RBI on wild pitch/walk? NEW
by: Anonymous

I'm looking at a box score where the team's only run came on a wild pitch and they have an RBI. It appears the wild pitch was also ball 4, so would that count as an RBI?

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.

Spalding, Old Time Bat Display

Louisville Sluggers. 1920's

Copyright© All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© All Rights Reserved.