The Ole Ball Game

What do you score the batter in this situation?

by Sam J
(Marysville, CA)

Sam asked: Bases loaded. The batter hits a ball into the 5-6 hole.

The 3rd baseman makes a play on the ball. The 3rd baseman then makes a throw home.

The runner going home is safe. What's the scoring on this play?

Would it be a RBI single for the batter?

Rick answered: Sam, thank you for your question!

The rule covering your situation is 9-3-2 Art 2...A basehit is credited to a batter when he advances to first base safely:

a. because of his fair hit (rather than because of a fielder's error)

2. base hits include any fair hit which cannot be fielded in time to throw out or tag out a batter-runner or any other runner when he is being forced to advance.

c. because of a fielder's choice (2-14-1) when a fielder attempts to put out another runner but is unsuccessful and the scorer believes the batter-runner would have reached first base even with perfect fielding.

2-14-1 Art 1...A fielder's choice is the act of a fielder with a live ball, who elects to throw for an attempted putout or to retire unassisted any runner or batter-runner, thus permitting the advance of another runner(s). The scorer decides whether the batter is credited with a safe hit ir an extra base hit in accordance with 9-2-2, 9-3-3.

Should be scored an rbi single, based on the highlighted section above, as the base runner was forced to advance.

Yours in baseball,


Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.

Spalding, Old Time Bat Display

Louisville Sluggers. 1920's

Copyright© All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© All Rights Reserved.