Triple or Single with an Error
When You Go Here, Someone Needs To Be Backing You Up
Whatever It Calls For
Greg asked: Situation, runner at first, one out in a high school baseball game.
Line drive hit to right fielder. Right fielder runs in towards the ball and makes a diving attempt to catch the ball.
Unfortunately he misses the ball and it goes by him. Runner scores and batter/runner advances to third base as the right fielder chases down the ball.
In that situation, the right fielder should have fielded the ball and held the runners to first and second.
I've heard two schools of thought on this. First thought, the right fielder with normal effort should have fielded the ball and held the batter to a single--consequently, it would be ruled as a single and an error allowing the runners to advance (actually heard this on ESPN or MLB Network).
The second thought is that since the ball got by the right fielder who attempted a play with extraordinary effort, it should be ruled as a triple with no error.
What's your school of thought? :)
Rick answered: Greg, thank you for your question.
I would credit the batter with a triple. Outfielder made a special effort, came up short.
Batter hit the ball hard, both deserve something for their efforts.
Yours in baseball,