Stealing home/2 outs in MLB
(South Carolina , USA)
Steve asked: With a runner on third & batter at the plate, a 3/2 count and two outs, the pitcher starts his wind-up, the runner on third breaks for home and slides across home plate, before the pitch reaches home plate.
Pitch is called the third strike by the home plate umpire...Was the runner at the plate safe or out when he crossed the plate before the pitch reaches the plate?
Rick answered: Steve, thank you for your question.
Technically, both, for a second in time.
While he did beat the pitch to the plate, that momentarily made him safe.
As soon as the umpire rung the batter up as the third out of the inning, the run was erased.
No run scores in that situation unless the batter-runner reaches first base safely.
Ball 4 would have scored the run, an error by the catcher, which resulted in the batter-runner reaching first base safely, would also have scored the run.
Rule 5:08 How a Team Scores
One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are out to end the inning.
Exception: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base(2)by any runner being forced out or (3)by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.
If the strikeout had been out number i or 2, run scores.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.