Steve asked: Man on first, one out.
Ground ball to short who boots it.
Next hitter singles in run. Then two more outs.
Is this an earned run or can I assume an out at second if the shortstop fields it cleanly.
Rick answered: Steve, thank you for your question.
Rule 10.12 Errors
An error is a statistic charged against a fielder whose action has assisted the team on offense, as set forth in this rule 10.12 a) The official scorer shall charge an error against any fielder: 1) Whose misplay(fumble, muff or wild throw)prolongs the time at bat of a batter, prolongs the presence on the bases of a runner or permits a runner to advance one or more bases.
Rule 10.12 (a) (1) Comment: Slow handling of the ball that does not involve mechanical misplay shall not be construed as an error.
For example, the official scorer shall not charge a fielder with an error if such fielder fields a ground ball cleanly but does not throw to 1B in time to retire the batter. It is not necessary that the fielder touch the ball to be charged with an error. If a ground ball goes through a fielder's legs or a fly ball falls untouched and in the scorers' judgment the fielder could have handled the ball with ordinary effort, the official scorer shall charge the fielder with an error.
From the sound of your description, it was an error on the SS, run unearned as that error prolonged the inning.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.