Scoring Decision FC question
Chris asked: How would you score the following play?
Man on 3rd less than 2 outs and the infield is up.
The batter his a hard ball to the SS who throws home but the runner had a great jump and beat the throw to the plate so all runners are safe.
He clearly would have thrown the batter out at 1B if he choose to go there.
We recorded a FC and a RBI for the batter. Is that correct?
Rick answered: Chris, thank you for your question.
Rule 10.04 Runs batted In:
(a) The official scorer shall credit the batter with a run batted in for every run that scores by the batter's safe hit (including the batter's home run), sacrifice bunt, sacrifice fly, infield out or fielder's choice.
Fielder's choice with an RBI was correct.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.