Runner on first, batter hits line drive to left field and base runner is thrown out at 2nd base. How is that scored?
Anonymous asked:Runner on first, batter hits line drive to left field, base runner is thrown out at 2nd base.
How is that scored?
Rick answered: Thank you for your question.
Rule 9 Scoring and Record Keeping
Sec 3 Player's Batting Record Art 2...A base hit is credited to a batter when he advances to first base safely:
a)because of his fair hit (rather than because of a fielders error);
1.It is not a base hit if any runner is out on a force play caused by the batter advancing towards first base.
As you described it, the play would be scored as a fielder's choice in the batters record, scored 7-4 in the base runners box, with the out number circled.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.