Runner on, batter hits home run. Runner trips over base and breaks his ankle. Can batter-runner pass him?
Bruce asked: What happens to the batter-runner who hits a home run, when the runner ahead of him trips and breaks his ankle preventing him from advancing beyond the point of tHe accident?
Rick asked: Bruce, thank you for your question.
Rule 5.10...The ball becomes dead when an umpire calls "time".
The umpire-in-chief shall call "time"...(c) when an accident incapacitates a player or an umpire;
(1) If an accident to a runner is such to prevent him from proceeding to a base to which he is entitled, as on a home run hit out of the playing field, or an award of one or more bases, a substitute runner shall be permitted to complete the play.
Once play is resumed, the substitute runner finishes the injured runners trip around the bases, followed by the batter-runner.
Batter is credited with a home run, 2 rbi's and a run scored.
Substitute runner is credited with a run scored.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.