Official at bat
Photo Bill Stanton: Checkswing.com
Anonymous asked: Two outs in the inning. Player is at bat but, before any ball is pitched, the third out is made by a runner.
Does that constitute an official at bat of the player or does he lead off in the next inning?
Rick answered: Thank you for your question.
Rule 2-39-1: Time at bat is the period beginning when a batter first enters the batter's box and continues until he is put out or becomes a runner.
In the situation you asked about, the third out of the inning is recorded on a baserunner, before a pitch was ever made to the batter.
Three outs, player at the plate leads off the next inning.
It would be the same if pitches were made to the batter; but before the batter was put out or could become a runner the third out was recorded on a baserunner, the batter would still lead off the next inning.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.