Is it bad sportmanship to steal bases in the bottom of the 9th down 12-0?
(Des Moines, IA, USA)
Photo Bill Stanton: Checkswing.com
William asked: It is generally recognized that stealing bases when the game is way out of hand, by the winning team is considered unsportsman-like. After a lead off walk in the bottom of the 9th inning, down 12-0, the first baseman didn't hold me on first so I stole second. The first baseman went nuts, telling me I was being unsportsman-like. I know that is just a matter of opinion, but never heard of such a thing. I was just trying to prevent being shut out for pride reasons. What say you?
Rick answered: William, thank you for you question.
When I first read your title, I thought you had made a mistake on which half of the inning you were asking about.
Then I read your full question. That is one for the books.
Can't imagine what the first baseman was thinking. If it was the top half of the inning and the you were ahead, baseball's unwritten rules come into play, you don't steal, bunt or otherwise manufacture runs.
How he could think that a team that is behind would be subject to those rules is pretty hard to figure. They are boat racing you 12-0, why wouldn't you do everything you could to score a run, or, and it does happen, put together a comeback and tie and or win the game.
Did you have an opportunity to talk with him later? To para phrase the country western song ,"What was he thinking?"
Thanks for sending that along. I am sure our readers will get a chuckle from it.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.