Is home run official if batter doesn't make it to home plate?
Photo Bill Stanton: Checkswing.com
Mark asked: Scenario: Bottom of the 9th with 2 on and home team is down by 1. Batter hits a homerun and the 2 runners cross home plate putting them up by 1.
The batter doesnt make it past 3rd because of the team celebration. What's the official call? Is it a HR?
Rick answered: Mark, thank you for your question.
Rule 4.11 (c)
If the home team scores the winning run in it's half of the last inning, the game ends immediately when the winning run is scored.
Exception: If the last batter in a game hits a home run out of the playing field, the batter/runner and all runners on base are permitted to score, in accordance with the base running rules, and the game ends when the batter/ runner touches home plate.
Comment: An exception will be if fans rush onto the field and physically prevent the runner from touching home plate or the batter from touching first base. In such cases, the umpires shall award the runner the base because of obstruction by fans.
Once the two runner ahead of the batter/runner have scored, the game is officially over.
The batter/runner has the right to score, in the situation you describe, while it is player obstruction, not fan obstruction that keeps him from getting past third base, that would be a technicality as the game is officially over.
Umpires should just award the batter/runner home plate due to obstruction, everybody goes home.
How did the actual call go in your scenario?
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.