Infield Fly Rule
Power Shift To Right Side - Long Way For 3B To Catch Pop Up On Left Side
Big Difference Between The Two, For The Infield Fly Rule
Randy asked: Infield fly rule says that a popup in the infield must be caught with a routine or normal effort.
However with the shifts now made by many infielders does this become impossible and how does it affect the rule?
For example, 3 infielders are on the right side of the infield and the 3rd baseman has moved close to second. Otherwise the Infield Fly is in effect and the batter hits a popup high enough to be ruled an infield fly but comes down right inside the foul line near 3rd base. It is almost impossible for a fielder to get to the ball. Understanding the ball does not have to be caught is it still an infield fly because it would have taken more than a routine or normal effort to reach and catch the ball before it lands?
Rick answered: Randy, thank you for such a great question.
I went through and read the rule over, it hasn't changed, even with the increase in player shifts.
I have seen no discussions on the situation, nor heard any from announcers on televised games.
Possibly some of our readers have seen or heard something. I will post this, and see what response it generates.
Yours in baseball,