Infield fly rule
Joe asked: First and second, one out, pop up along third base line.
Umpire calls infield fly rule, third baseman loses it in the sun, ball lands fair and rolls foul.
Is batter out?
Rick answered: Joe, thank you for your question.
With runners on first and second, or bases loaded, less than two outs, when a pop fly goes up anywhere in the infield area, the infield fly rule comes into play.
The umpire should have called out, "infield fly, batter is out, if fair."
The ball was fair when it hit the ground in fair territory; but became a foul ball when it rolled into foul territory, not having been touched by a defensive player.
Foul ball, runners return to their base, batter returns to hit, with one additional strike added, unless he already had 2.
Umpires are supposed to make the call above; but it doesn't always get done. It still is the rule, called or not.
Yours in baseball,