IN high school ferderation. Only the defensive team may appeal batting out of order after the batterhas compleated his time at bat. Is this true or false?
by Gilbert De La Rosa
(El Paso Texas)
Only The Defensive Team Can Appeal After At Bat Is Completed
Gilbert asked: Only the defensive team may appeal the batting out of order after the batter has completed his time at bat. Is this true or false?
Rick answered: Gilbert, thank you for your question.
High School Federation: Batting Out Of Turn
Rule 7, Section 1 Position and Batting Order
Art 1...Each player of the team at bat shall become the batter and shall take his position within the batter's box, on either side of home plate, in the order in which his name appears on the lineup card as delivered to the umpire prior to the game.
This order shall be followed during the entire game except that an entering substitute shall take the replaced players place in the batting order. A batter is in proper order if he follows the player whose name precedes his in the lineup, even though such preceding batter may have batted out of order.
An improper batter is considered to be at bat as soon as he is in the batter's box and the ball is live.
When the improper batters infraction is first discovered by either team, time may be requested and the improper batter replaced by the proper batter and the improper batter's ball and strike count is still in effect, provided the infraction is detected before the improper batter is put out or becomes a runner.
Only the defensive team may appeal batting out of order after the batter has completed his time at bat. Any outs on the play stand. An out for batting out of order super cedes an out by the improper batter on the play.
While the improper batter is at bat, if a runner advances because of a stolen base, balk, wild pitch or passed ball, such advance is legal.
Sounds like the discussion at the time this one occurred might have gotten interesting.
Yours in baseball,