If bases are loaded and there is a ground all hit to as and 3rd Base makes it home before we can make an out for what ever reason, is it still a run?7
(Huntington, West Virginia, US)
curt asked: If bases are loaded and there is a ground ball hit as the runner on third base makes it home before the defense can make an out, for whatever reason, is it still a run?
Rick answered: Curtis, thank you for your question.
Rule 5:08 How A Team Scores
(a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.
Exception: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base
(2) by any runner being forced out, or
(3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.