If a runner crosses home plate on a fly out without tagging up does the runner need to retouch home plate before heading back to third?
Must Retouch All Bases Passed If Returning During Live Ball
William asked: Runner on third and 1 out.
Batter hits a fly ball to left field and runner from third runs home.
Left fielder catches the ball and throws the ball home to cut the runner off, but makes a bad throw.
Runner tags home and runs around home and back to third before the ball gets back to third.
Did the runner need to retouch home plate before heading back to third to tag up?
Rick answered: William, thank you for your question.
Rule 5.06 Running the bases
(b) Advancing Bases
(1) In advancing, a runner shall touch first, second, third and home base in order. If forced to return, he shall retouch all bases in reverse order, unless the ball is dead under any provision of rule 5.06 (c). In such cases, the runner may go directly to his original base.
Since the ball was still live, the runner from third is required to retouch home plate on his way back to re-tag.
Failure to do so would make him out.
Yours in baseball,