If a batter hits a ball that bounced up from in the dirt into the stands is it a homerun?
by Edward Hunter
(Woodstown, NJ USA)
Edward asked: A batter swings at a pitch in the dirt. The ball bounces up from the dirt and he golfs it into the stands.
Is the ball in play, and is it a home run?
Rick answered: Edward, thank you for your question.
The rule covering your situation is Rule 2-28 Art 4...A pitch ends when:
- The pitched ball is secured by the catcher.
- Comes to rest.
- Goes out of play.
- Becomes dead.
- Or the batter hits the ball (other than a foul tip).
As long as the ball goes out of the park in fair territory, it is a home run.
I have never seen it happen, generally hard enough to hit pitches in the strike zone, let alone balls that are bouncing before they get there.
Yours in baseball,