If a baserunner steals a base, where the catcher doesn't throw because the runner is too quick/got a good jump, should it be ruled as a stolen base or defensive indecision?
Chris asked: If a base runner steals a base,where the catcher doesn't throw because the runner is too quick/got a good jump, should it be ruled as a stolen base, or a defensive indecision.?
How should the scenario be recorded?
Rick answered: Chris, thank you for your question.
As you have described the situation, the play should be recorded as a stolen base.
The runner was being held by the defense, the pitcher is throwing out of the stretch. The runner takes off, and due to his good jump and/or his speed, the catcher decides to not throw the ball.
Defensive indifference comes into play when the defensive team is ahead by a lot of runs, or, enough runs that the runner stealing that base, they don't feel, will make a difference.
In those cases, the infielders make no attempt to limit the runner's lead, the pitcher may even throw out of his windup, rather than the stretch.
Since there is no effort to curtail the runner, the scorers record it as Defensive Indifference.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.