The Ole Ball Game

does this run score as the game ending winning run

by rob
(vancouver, b.c.)

Rob asked: Bases are loaded and it is the bottom of the last inning, score is tied at 4.

Hitter hits ball to left field and touches first base.

Runner from third scores at home.

The runner going to second base did not touch second base. Second baseman gets ball and touches second base for the force out.

Does this run score as the game ending, winning run?

Rick answered: Rob, thank you for your question.

The rule which pertains to this situation is:

Rule 9 Scoring- Record Keeping Sec 1 How a Team Scores

Art 1...A runner scores one run each time he legally advances to and touches first, second, third and then home plate before there are three out to end the inning.

Exception: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home plate during action in which the third out is made as follows:

a) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; or

b) by another runner forced out; or

c) by a preceding runner who is declared out on appeal because he failed to touch one of the bases, or left a base too soon on a caught fly ball; or

d) when the third out is declared during a play in which an umpire observed a base running infraction resulting in a force out (this takes precedence if enforcement of it would negate a score)

The run would not count, the game is headed into extra innings.

How did this play get called in real time? I would guess it got pretty exciting no matter which way it was called.

Yours in baseball,


Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.

Spalding, Old Time Bat Display

Louisville Sluggers. 1920's

Copyright© All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© All Rights Reserved.