The Ole Ball Game

Does the run count?

by Mike

Runner from second fails to tag, makes third out at second.

Runner from second fails to tag, makes third out at second.

Mike asked: Situation - Runners on second and third, one out.

Batter hits a fly ball to center field that is caught for second out.

Runner on third tags up and runs to home plate.

Runner on second base does NOT tag up and is put out at second base before he can return there safely.

Does the run count if runner from third touches home before the runner from second is put out by an infielder touching second base in this scenario?

Rick answered: Mike, thank you for your question.

The rule for this situation is 5.08 How A Run Scores

a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first base, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.

Exception: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made:

1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base

2) Or by any runner being forced out, or

3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.

Comment: A run legally scored cannot be nullified by subsequent action of the runner.

The runner from third base legally tagged up, and scored on the catch, which was the second out.

The runner from second became the third out at second base because he failed to tag.

The runner from third touched home plate before the third out was made at second. His tag was legal, thus his run counts as a legally scored run and cannot be nullified by the runner who became out number 3.

Sometimes these situations can become pretty confusing.

Yours in baseball,


Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.

Spalding, Old Time Bat Display

Louisville Sluggers. 1920's

Copyright© All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© All Rights Reserved.