Batter due up to start the next inning.
by Tom Tanner
(Clayton, NC USA)
Batting Out Of Turn
Tom asked: NHSF rules. Batter #6 is up at the plate with two out. Runner on third attempts to score from third on passed ball and is tagged out at plate.
When starting next inning, Batter#9 takes place in batters box and receives one or two pitches before I catch the error.
I call time as coach and ask for ruling by umpire.
He agrees with me and replaces Batter #9 with Batter #6 at same count.
Shouldn't someone have been called out for batting out of order?
Rick answered: Tom, thank you for your question.
Rule7 Batting...Section 1, Position and Batting Order
(1) A batter shall be called out, on appeal, when he fails to bat in his proper turn, and another batter completes a time at bat in his place.
(2) The proper batter may take his place in the batter's box at any time before the improper batter becomes a runner or is put out, and any balls and strikes shall be counted in the proper batter's time at bat.
For the improper batter to be called out for batting out of order, he would have to complete that time at bat, at which time you could appeal to the home plate umpire, then he could rule him out, had he reached a base safely for any reason.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.