A fielder drops a fly ball with a runner on first base but another fielder picks it up a forces the runner out at second base. Is there an error on the play?
Frank asked: A runner on first base.
A shallow fly ball to center field. The center fielder drops it but the 2nd baseman picks it up and throws it to the shortstop for a force out.
Is there an error on the play by the center fielder? Or would you score it an 8-4-6 fielder's choice?
Rick answered: Frank, thank you for your question.
No error on the play. It is an 8-4-6, fielder's choice on the batter.
If the official scorer rules that the ball that was dropped should be a base hit, due to it's location and difficulty, you could have a 8-4-6, with a base hit for the batter.
Yours in baseball,