The Ole Ball Game

A batter's bat strikes the catcher's mitt as he swings at the ball. Is the batter credited with a hit and awarded 1st base>

by richard fogle
(panama city beach,fla)

Richard asked: A batter swings at a pitched ball but his bat hits the catchers mitt. Does the batter get 1st base and credited with a hit?

Rick answered: Richard, thank you for your question.

The following credit goes to for their information on this topic:

Catcher's interference is a specific type of interference that occurs when the catcher makes contact with the batter (or his bat) during a pitch, or otherwise hinders or impedes a batter's ability to hit a pitched ball. In order for catcher's interference to be enforced, the batter must have been in a legal batting position with both feet in the batter's box.

Catcher's interference is considered a delayed dead ball situation, much like a balk. If a play follows the interference, the umpire will allow the play to continue, as the offended team's manager can choose to decline the interference and accept the result of the play, in which case the play stands without reference to the interference.

If the interference is accepted, the batter is awarded first base without liability to be put out, and the base-runners may advance only if forced. The catcher is charged with an error, however, the batter is not considered to have reached on an error, and is not charged with a time at bat.

While the batter is charged with a plate appearance, for statistical purposes, reaching on catcher's interference does not affect a players on-base percentage. A notation should be made in the box-score that "batter x" was awarded first base because of catcher's interference.

Yours in baseball,


Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.

Spalding, Old Time Bat Display

Louisville Sluggers. 1920's

Copyright© All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© All Rights Reserved.