The Ole Ball Game

Why is a walk not counted as a time at bat?

by Jim
(Phoenix, AZ)

Why Is A Walk Not Counted As A Time At Bat?

Why Is A Walk Not Counted As A Time At Bat?

Jim asked: With the extremely rare exception, every time a batter is in the batter's box at home plate it is to hit/bat the ball.


With that intent, the batter has no control over what the umpire calls a pitch to be (strike or ball) or whether he accrues enough ball calls to be walked.

Though the batter put in the time at bat, but got a walk due to what the ump called the pitches, why isn't a walk counted as a time at bat?


Rick answered: Jim, thank you for your question.

Due to increased coaching commitments,I am no longer able to answer questions not related to Baseball instruction, baseball's mental game or defensive and offensive situations.

If you search online for these two phrases, I believe you will locate what you need in Wikipedia's answers to these questions.

1. Why aren't plate appearances and time at bat the same in baseball?

2. Why is a walk not counted as a time at bat?



Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.