The Ole Ball Game

When is a Fly ball a Sac Fly ?

by Mike
(New Hampshire)

Mike asked: If a runner is advanced from 2nd to 3rd on a fly ball, is that considered a sac fly and does the batter get charged with an official at bat?


Rick answered: Mike, thank you for your question.

Rule 9.08 Sacrifices

(d)Score a sacrifice fly when, before two are out, the batter hits a ball in flight handled by an outfielder or an infielder running in the outfield, in fair or foul territory that...

(1) is caught, and a runner scores after the catch, or

(2) is dropped, and a runner scores, if in the scorer's judgment the runner could have scored after the catch had the fly been caught.

A runner has to score for the at bat to become recorded as a sac fly. Advancing a runner from first to second, or from second to third with a caught fly ball is an official at bat.


Yours in baseball,

Rick

Comments for When is a Fly ball a Sac Fly ?

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

May 28, 2017
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
when did sac fly rule change? NEW
by: skip

I am trying to find the year the sac fly rule was changed from merely advancing a runner to having to score a runner.(I think it was in the 1990's)

Jul 09, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Sac fly
by: Rick, theoleballgame

Jim: The answer on the question is straight from the MLB Rule Book, 9.08...Sacrifices.

At a couple of points in time since baseball was created, a Sacrifice Fly was granted the batter, it it advanced a runner from first to second, or from second to third.

Statistical data changes, and this rule is one that has been re-written a couple of times.

There are sacrifice bunts, which do not need to score a run to be granted to the hitter, they only need to advance the runner, or runners, for it to be a sacrifice.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Jul 08, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Need a little more clarification
by: Jim (Phoenix, AZ)

According to the answer, if a runner advances bases but DOES NOT SCORE (i.e., cross home plate), the caught ball is NOT OFFICIALLY listed as a "sac fly."
Is this true with any so-called "sac" play by a batter?
If so, then game announcers have been misleading the watching/hearing public for decades. As they call the game, any batter that gets out but advances a runner by a base has just done a "sac" play (hit, bunt, fly ball, etc).

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.