The Ole Ball Game

What happens next?

by Corey
(North Dakota)

Photo Bill Stanton:  Checkswing.com

Photo Bill Stanton: Checkswing.com

Corey asked: Two outs guy on first, batter hits a liner to right center that goes out, but runner on first misses second base , the other team appeals and wins the appeal. What happens next?


Rick answered: Corey, good question!

The rule for this is covered in Rule 9 Scoring and Record Keeping: Sec 1...how a team scores

Art 1...A runner scores one run each time he legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home plate before there are three outs to end the inning.

Exception: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home plate during action in which the third out is made as follows:
c. by a preceding runner who is declared out upon appeal because he failed to touch one of the bases or left a base too soon on a caught fly ball.

Second runner is out, inning over, no runs scored.

Because the base runner missed second base, I believe the batter is credited with a single for his at bat. Not positive on that, could possibly be credited with a double, as the appeal had to be a dead ball appeal, since the ball had left the yard.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.