two outs,runner on third attempts to steal home succesfully,mthe batter swings, hits a ground ball and is thrown out at first (after the steal is completed) does the run count ?
by m redstone
(mcpherson ks usa)
Batter-runner out at first for out number 3, runner stealing home does not score.
Marty asked: Does the run score if the run crossed the plate before the out at first ?
Rick answered: Marty, thank you for your question.
Rule 5.08 (a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home plate before three men are put out to end the inning.
Exception: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) By the batter-runner before he touches first base (2) by any runner being forced out; or(3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.
For the run to score in your situation, the batter-runner would need to have been safe at first.
The time of this play is from the time of the pitch, all events that happen as the pitcher starts into his delivery, the runner starts from third, ball is delivered and the batter puts the ball in play.
As soon as the ball is put in play, the runner from third is no longer stealing, the defense fields the ball and throws the batter-runner out at first, 3 outs, inning over, no run scored.
Yours in baseball,