the first baseman has the ball in hand but touching the ground foot on the bag is the runner safe?
Anonymous asked: The first baseman has the ball in hand but touching the ground, foot on the bag.
Is the runner safe?
Rick answered: Thank you for your question.
A tag is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove; or touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove.
It is not a tag, however, if simultaneously or immediately following his touching a base or touching a runner, the fielder drops the ball. In establishing the validity of the tag, the fielder shall hold the ball long enough to prove he has complete control of the ball.
If the fielder has made a tag and drops the ball while in the act of making a throw following the tag, the tag shall be adjudged to have been made.
In the scenario you have described, it all hinges on a judgment call by the umpire at that point in time.
Judgment calls happen in a split second and cannot be argued.
Determination of safe or out in your scenario is whatever was called in real time.
Your description of ball in hand sounds like control, where hand covering ball could be seen as not in control.
All up to the umpire, in that moment in time.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.