The defenseman catches the ball and touches the bag with his opposit hand is the runner out on a force
What constitutes an out on a force
Anonymous asked: Short stop catches the ball in his left hand and touches the bag with his right.
Is the runner out on force play?
Rick answered: Thank you for your question.
Rule 2.00...A tag is the action of a fielder touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove; or touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove.
As long as the defensive player has control of the ball in either his bare hand, or inside his glove which is on his hand, he can tag the base with any part of his body.
The essential part in all of this is that the defensive player has control of the ball in a hand or glove, can't be squeezed between his knees, or caught up in his uniform.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.