The Ole Ball Game

The batter swings and misses a pitch but hits it on his backswing and the ball goes into fair territory. What is the call.

by Jim
(Placentia, CA, USA)

Jim asked: The batter swings and misses a pitch but hits is on his backswing and the ball goes into fair territory.


What is the call?

This actually happened in a softball game but I am sure that the same rule would apply in baseball.


Rick answered: Jim, thank you for your question.

Rule 6.03 (a) (3) Comment Rule 6.06 (c): If a batter strikes at a ball and misses and swings so hard he carries the bat all the way around and, in the umpires judgment, unintentionally hits the catcher or the ball in back of him on the backswing, it shall be called a strike only(not interference). The ball will be dead, however, and no runner shall advance on the play.

Don't see it too often; but it does happen. Rule applies to softball as well as baseball.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.