The Ole Ball Game

should a catcher catch a third strike bunt fly ball in foul territoy?

by Jad Haidar
(Beirut,Lebanon)

Bunt Attempt With 2 Strikes, Automatically Strike Three

Bunt Attempt With 2 Strikes, Automatically Strike Three

Jad asked: If a batter has 2 strikes and bunts into foul ground he is out,however, what if the bunt had the ball popped up in foul ground? He doesn't need to attempt to catch it, right?



Rick answered: Jad, thank you for your question.

You are correct. As soon as the ball is in foul territory the umpire should declare the ball is "dead, batter is out", thus no runners may advance on the action.

As you look at the photo above, there are runners on first and third. If the batter bunts the ball foul, and it is his third strike, he is automatically out, and those 2 runners remain where they were at the start of the play.

Catcher does not need to catch the ball, or even attempt to.

Yours in baseball,

Rick


Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.