The Ole Ball Game

Score keeping question regarding holding a runner. Base hit?

No Errors Recorded For Mental Mistakes

No Errors Recorded For Mental Mistakes

Anonymous asked: Hi. I have a score keeping question.


Runner on third base with less than two outs.

Batter connects on a 'swinging bunt' (i.e. clearly not a bunt attempt).

The catcher fields the ball in front of the plate and looks the runner back to third. In so doing, he allows the batter time to be safe at first--the throw to first was not in time, and there was no error involved.

Is this clearly a base hit or is it a judgement call? Does it make any difference if, in the scorekeeper's opinion, the batter would have been out except for the catcher holding the runner at third?

Thank you.


Rick answered: Thank you for your question.

It should be scored as a base hit, since the batter beat the throw to first base.

Errors are not given for mental mistakes.

In this case, the catcher did what he should do in that situation, check the runner before you throw to first.

Batter out runs the throw, base hit.


Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.