The Ole Ball Game

Sac Bunt or Fielder's Choice?

Anonymous asked: Batter attempts a sac bunt to score runner on 3rd. Pitcher fields the bunt throws to catcher (runner is safe); catcher then throws to first to get the runner, but runner is safe by inches. Batter would have been out if pitcher had thrown to first. Do you score this a sac bunt or a fielder's choice? Our scorekeeper gave the batter a hit; not sure how they determined this.


Rick answered: Thank you for your question!

Rule 9-3 Player's batting record:
Section 3- Article 2...A base hit is credited to a batter when he advances to first safely:

c. because of a fielder's choice, when a fielder attempts to put out another runner but is unsuccessful and the scorer believes the batter/runner would have reached first base even with perfect fielding.

In your scenario, for the batter to have been credited with a base hit, the scorer would have to have decided the batter would have been safe at first, even if the pitcher had come up with the ball cleanly and thrown to first in time.

From your description on how close it was at first, even after the play at the plate, the ruling should have been a fielder's choice.

Scoring situations can get interesting, a lot of room for interpretation or judgement.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Comments for Sac Bunt or Fielder's Choice?

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jun 03, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Sac or Error?
by: Rick, theoleballgame.com

Batter gets a sacrifice, fielder gets an error.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Jun 03, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Sac bunt ot fielder's choice
by: Rick theoleballgame.com

It would be scored as a sacrifice, with an error charged on the throw.

The batter was successful in moving the runner. The error, or a clean out at first would still provide the sac for the hitter.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

May 31, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Scoring a sac bunt with an error
by: Anonymous

If a batter bunts with a runner on first and the fielder makes an error attempting to throw out the batter that bunted, is the batter credit with a sacrifice and then the fielder is charged with an error allowing the batter to reach base?

May 05, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Credit for the sac
by: Rick, theoleballgame.com

The batter gets credit for the sac bunt, as he successfully moved the runner to third. Once the runner was safe at third, the sac is complete.

The runner then is recorded as out with a 3-2 putout, to account, in the book, how the runner ended up.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

May 04, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
SAC Bunt 1 Out Man on 2nd
by: Anonymous

Help on how to score a SAC bunt with 1 out and man on 2nd base.
Batter shows bunt and executes a SAC bunt to the 1st base side, pitcher fields it and throws to 1st for the out and safely moves the runner over to 3rd. The 3rd base coach decides to send the runner to home to score the run and was not successful.
Does the batter get the credit for a SAC bunt with moving the runner to 3rd? If so how would you score this play?

Mar 21, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
What about lead runner out?
by: Anonymous

What about the situation where a bunt is laid down to squeeze the player home, but the runner is out at home and the batter is safe at first? Would that be a SAC or FC?

Apr 27, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
You are correct, sacrifice should have been given.
by: Anonymous

Rule 9-3 Art 2c: A basehit is credited to a batter when he advances to first base safely; because of a fielders choice when a fielder attempts to put out another runner but is unsuccessful and the scorer believes the batter/runner would have reached first base even with perfect fielding.

Art 4: A sacrifice is credited to the batter when, with not more than 1 out, his bunt enables any runner to score but which, in either case, results in the batter/runner being out before he reaches first, or would have resulted in his being put out if his bunt or batted ball had been fielded wothout error.

For the scorer to have given the batter a hit in this case, he must have determined in his mind, that the batter would have beat it out even if the attempt had not initially been to the plate.

Thanks for making me rethink this one.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Apr 26, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Why is it ruled a FC and not a SAC
by: Anonymous

In this situation the batter is still formfitting his at bat. Eventhough he is safe at first because the other baserunner beat the throw he is still sacrificing. Why is this ruled a FC instead of SAC? The hitter was successful in advancing the runners but gets penalized because the fielder decided to throw it to another base.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.