The Ole Ball Game

Runners on 1 & 3 with one out

by Tommy
(Massachusetts )

Force Out At First

Force Out At First

Tommy asked: Runners on 1st & 3rd with 1 out.


Batter hits fly ball, outfielder catches fly ball throws out runner at 1st for leaving base before ball was caught but; runner at 3rd tagged up and scored before the out was made at 1st.

Does the run count?


Rick answered: Tommy, thank you for your question.

Rule 5.08 How a run scores

(a) One run shall score each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are out to end the inning.

Exception: A run is not scored if a runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made

1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base

2) or by any runner being forced out, or

3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases

Comment: A run legally scored cannot be nullified by subsequent actions of the runner


Rick answered: Tommy, thank you for your question.

The run in this scenario would not count, as the base runner from first base was called out on a force play at first base, for the third out of the inning.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.