The Ole Ball Game

Runner on third. Fly ball to center. Center fielder drops ball. Does batter still get scored a Sac Fly?

by Craig Crogan
(Watertown WI USA)

Craig asked: Batter Sac Fly and on by error 8?



Rick answered: Craig, thank you for your question.

Rule 9.08 Sacrifices

The official scorer shall:

(d) Score a sacrifice fly when, before two are out, the batter hits a fly ball in flight handled by an outfielder or an infielder running in the outfield in fair or foul territory that

(2) is dropped, and a runner scores, if in the scorers judgement the runner could have scored after the catch, had the fly ball been caught.


The answer to your question lies in whether or not there were less than two outs when the fly ball was hit.


Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.