Run Scoring Situation?
Out At First
Lambert asked: 1 out, runners on 2B and 3B.
Batter hits a sharp ground ball to 3B, where the runner on 2B tries to advance to 3B where he is tagged out for the 2nd out.
A throw is made to 1B where the 3rd out is recorded (force out) on the double play.
The initial runner on 3B crosses the plate prior to the 3rd out being recorded, does the run count?
Rick answered: Lambert, thank you for your question.
Rule 5:08...How A Team Scores
(a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.
Exception A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made(1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base
(2) by any runner being forced out or
(3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.
In your situation, the batter-runner would have to be safe at first base, for the run to count.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.