The Ole Ball Game

Run scoring on double play

by Steve
(Levittown, pa)

Steve asked: Man on 1st and 3rd,one out.


Fly ball to center caught for 2nd out.

Man on 3rd tags up and gets in before 3rd out.

Man on 1st leaves early to go to 2nd base. He realizes ball is caught and goes back to 1st base.

The center fielder throws to 1st base before the runner get back to 1st.

Does the run count?


Rick answered: Steve, thank you for your question.

Rule 5:08 How a team scores.

a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are out to end the inning.

Exception: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base (2) by any runner being forced out or(3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.

The situation you described is one continuous play. When the center fielder threw the ball to first, that out is a force and was the third out of the inning. Run does not score.


Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.