The Ole Ball Game

Run scores before third out

by Gord
(Whitecourt, Alberta, Canada)

Force At First

Force At First

Gord asked: Runners on 1 and 3 with one out.


Deep fly ball hit to center, runner at 3 waits, runner at 1 takes off.

Ball is caught for out 2, runner at 3 takes off for home, other runner has to run back to 1st.

Runner at 3 scores before throw comes to 1st, where previous runner has not made it back yet, for out # 3.

Does run score and which rule applies as technically, the third out was forced.


Rick answered Gord, thank you for your question.

Rule 5.08 How a Run Scores

a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first base, second base, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.

Exception: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made:

1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base

2) Or, by any runner being forced out

3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases

Even though the runner from third legally tagged, ran on the catch in the outfield, and scored before the out was recorded on the runner who went back to tag, that runner from first base becomes a force out, for out number 3.


Yours in baseball,

Rick

Comments for Run scores before third out

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jul 12, 2017
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Runner From First
by: Rick, theoleballgame

The runner from first ran because the batter put the ball in play, thus he must vacate first base at that point. It wouldn't be voluntary.

The ball is live off the bat, the defense has a force play, if they get the ball to first base before the runner from first is able to get back.

If the runner had reached first before the ball, he would be safe. There would be no appeal, as that runner could go as far as he wanted to, and still return to first.

If he touched second and rounded it, he would be required to retouch second on his way back. Failure to do so would be a case for appeal, if he managed to get back before the ball.


Yours in baseball,

Rick

Jul 12, 2017
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Runner At First Nt Tagging Up On 2nd Out
by: Anonymous

According to the rule the runner at 1st "failed to touch a base" before the base was tagged on the appeal. In this situation he is forced to retouch the base but the rule simply states he must touch the base and while it is not maybe technically a "force" play the runner on first gave up his legal right to be on first base by his failure to tag and the base (1st base) was tagged by the defense before he could re-establish his legal right to be at first.

Jul 11, 2017
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
But didn't the baserunner on first run by choice.
by: Anonymous

I'm not sure you are right Rick as the runner on first was safe at the initiation of the play so his movement towards second was voluntary and not forced so the out at first was an appeal play not a forced play. Isn't a live ball or dead ball appeal play the same? This is a tricky one.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.