The Ole Ball Game

run counts or not

by steve
(cambridge, mn)

Out At First To End The Inning

Out At First To End The Inning

Steve asked: Bases loaded two out. Batter hits ground ball back to pitcher who fumbles the ball but still throws out runner at first.


If the runner from third scores before the throw out at first, does the run count?


Rick answered: Steve, thank you for your question.

Rule 5.08 How A Run Scores

a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first base, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.

Exception: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made...

1) By the batter-runner before he touches first base.


The batter-runner would have to reach first base safely, in some manner, for the run to count.


Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.