Jim asked: With a runner on second, the batter hits a grounder to the shortstop.
Baserunner moves to third, shortstop tried to get him, but throw is off-line, runner safe a third.
Since no play was made at first of the batter, how do you score the running making it safely to first. Basehit or Fielders Choice?
Rick answered: Jim, thank you for your question.
The rule covering your question is 2-14-1...A fielder's choice is the act of a fielder with a live ball, who elects to throw for an attempted putout or to retire unassisted any runner or batter-runner, thus permitting the advance of another runner(s). The scorer decides whether the batter is credited with a hit or an extra base hit, or fielders choice.
Basehit or fielder's choice is determined by the official scorekeeper.
Would the batter most likely have been out at 1B if the SS chose to throw there? If so, fielder's choice.
If the batter-runner would most likely have been safe if the SS threw to 1B, then base hit.
All comes down to his decision.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.