The Ole Ball Game

r1 missed second

by ron rufo
(chicago il)

Ron asked: With 1 out, R1 at 1st is stealing on the pitch when B2 hits a deep drive to left.


R1 rounds 2nd completely stepping over the base and heads for 3rd. F7 catches the batted ball for the 2nd out.

Seeing the F7 is in a position to catch B2's fly ball, R1 retreats, tagging 2nd on his way back.

Before he reaches 1st, F7's errant throw back into the infield goes out of play. The umpire then awards R1 3rd base after the ball goes out of play, after which the offensive head coach makes a dead ball appeal that R1 missed 2nd base.

Rick answered: Ron, thank you for your question. I will bet this one got a little exciting!

From your description, the runner had the right to retouch second on his way back as he had not reached or passed a succeeding base ( rule 8-2 Section 2 Art 5).

Rule 8-2 Section 2 Art 6d: A runner may not return to touch a missed base or one left too soon on a caught fly ball if:

1. He has reached a base beyond the base missed, or left too soon and the ball becomes dead.

I would say that the runner was ok up to the point that the errant throw went out of play and became dead. Once that occured, he could not return, and would be out on the dead ball appeal by the defense.

What was the final result at the time? I would be interested to learn additional details.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Comments for r1 missed second

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Feb 26, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Umpire's ruling
by: Rick(theoleballgame)

I asked 3 umpires during our tournament how they would rule this particular play.

All three called it the same way.

The runner is ok by tagging second base on his way back, so no appeal can occur on missing the base.

They all would award the runner 3rd base on the thrown ball going out of play.

I am not sure what the part of Rule 8-2 Section 2 Article 6d that refers to how a runner who has missed a base, or left one too soon is unable to return to touch a base if the ball becomes dead.

Must refer to something else.

Still would like to know what the actual ruling was from the umpires on the field for that game.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Feb 21, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
R1 MISSED 2ND
by: TOMMY

It could be where if the umpire gave the runner 3rd base on the dead ball the coach could appeal at first that he left to soon then the runner would be out but no way he can be out at second. Lot of unknowns here Like you I would like to hear the ruling on the field. As a coach I would appeal every base just to make sure.

Feb 21, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Additional thoughts
by: Rick (theoleballgame)

Tommy: For sure the runner isn't out for missing second, as he has legally touched it on his way back.

The gray area comes in after he comes back around second. There seems to be some verbage in the rule which leaves the ruling to the administering umpire.

Rule 8-2 Section 2 Art 6: Appeal precedure and guidelines: Types:

1. Missing a base
2. Leaving a base on a caught fly ball before the ball is first touched.

Rule 8-2 Section 2 Article 6d: May not return:

A runner may not return to touch a missed base or one left too soon on a caught fly ball if:

1. He has reached a base beyond the base missed(not the case here), or left too soon and the ball becomes dead.

What constitutes leaving the base too soon in this case. The runner left the base, due to a steal attempt, not an attempt to gain an advantage on the defense, or a base running error. (That could possibly negate the wording in the rule which says he cannot return if the ball becomes dead), thus at the very least returning him to first base, after the ball went out of play.

It would also indicate that he has the right to complete his base running obligations, thus return to first base safely.

The key to it all may be in the umpires' interpretation of what constitutes leaving the base too early.

I would like to recieve information on how it was ruled on the field at the time.

We are starting a tournament tomorrow, I will ask one of our umpires how they would have ruled it.

Tommy, thanks for your input. Check back in a couple of days for the results on what umpires here have said.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Feb 20, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
RUNNER MISSING 2ND
by: Tommy

He isnt out for missing second base because he tagged it on the way back. I think the runner is safe and should be returned to first base because that is the last base he legally occupied before the dead ball. He should not be awarded 3rd base.





Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.