over thrown ball
Anonymous asked: Runner on 2nd base.
Ball hit to the shortstop, ball is thrown to first base and over thrown and in the dugout.
Does the runner get home?
Rick answered: Thank you for your question.
Rule 7.05 Each runner, including th batter-runner may, without liability to be put out, advance...(g) Two bases when, with no spectators on the playing field, a thrown ball goes into the stands, or into a bench(whether or not the ball rebounds into the field), or over or under or through a field fence, or on a slanting part of the screen above the backstop, or remains
in the mesh od a wire screen protecting spectators, the ball is dead.
When such a wild throw is the first play by an infielder, the umpire, in awarding such bases, shall be governed by the position of the runners at the time the ball was pitched; In all other cases the umpire shall be governed by the position at the time the wild throw was made.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.