The Ole Ball Game

mlb rule question

by Aaron
(Portage, Pa, United States)

Third Strike Bunt Goes Foul, Batter Out, Runners Cannot Advance

Third Strike Bunt Goes Foul, Batter Out, Runners Cannot Advance

Aaron asked: There is 2 strikes and the batter bunts the ball foul, he is out and its considered a strikeout but is a base runner allowed to steal a base or does he have to stay at previous base because its considered a foul ball?



Rick answered: Aaron, thank you for your question.

Once the ball is bunted foul on a third strike, the umpire should immediately call a "dead ball", any runners who were advancing on the play have to return to the base they were previously at.


Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.