The Ole Ball Game

Line drive

by Woo

Starting Into Secondary Lead

Starting Into Secondary Lead

Woo asked: As a base runner you want to freeze on your secondary lead when a line drive is hit.


So my question is, after you freeze on your secondary and the ball is not caught, can I just advance to next base without tagging up?

Does that apply for pop ups as well?


Rick answered: Woo, thank you for your question.

Once you are out into your secondary, and you freeze on the line drive, you can advance from the spot you are at, if you see the line drive, pop up, or fly ball is not caught.

Base runners only have to tag up on those balls that are caught.

My guess is that the tag rule was created to help keep scores lower, thus making a faster and more interesting game to play and watch.


Yours in baseball,

Rick






Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.