is the runner out if he fails to touch home plate and then enters the dug out?
Ken asked: Runner came in from 3rd base, missed home plate and entered dug out.
He returned and touched home plate just ahead of the tag.
Rick answered: Ken, thank you for your question.
Rule 7.08 Any runner is out when ...(d) He fails to touch home base and makes no attempt to return to that base, and home base is tagged.
Any appeal under this rule must be made before the next pitch, or any play or attempted play. If the violation occurs during a play which ends a half inning, the appeal must be made before the defensive team leaves the field.
* No reference is made about leaving the field of play and returning.
If play was still active, returning runner should be safe.
If the ball had been declared "dead", defense has the opportunity to appeal, before a pitch is made.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.