The Ole Ball Game

Is it counted as an at bat if a player hits a ground ball and is thrown out at first base while the base runner at 3rd base scores?

by John
(Tucson, AZ)

John asked: Is it counted as an at bat if a player hits a ground ball and is thrown out at first base, while the base runner at third base scores? Man on 3rd base. 1 out.



Rick answered: John, thank you for your question.

It would be recorded as an at bat, the batter would be credited with an rbi and the runner on third would be credited with a run scored.

If there were two outs, it would still be recorded as an at bat, the batter would not get credit for an rbi, and the runner would not score a run.


Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.