The Ole Ball Game

Is it a hit or fielders choice?

Mitch asked: Runner on first batter hits a ground ball to the short stop trying to turn a double play.


Runner is out at second base but throw to first not in time. I understand you can't assume a double play.

Is the batter scored as a hit or fielders choice.

Thanks, Mitch


Rick answered: Mitch, thank you for your question.

As you described it, scored a fielder's choice.

Infielder made a conscious choice to start the double play, thus a fielder's choice.


Yours in baseball,

Rick



Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!

Copyright© 2007-2018...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2018...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.