The Ole Ball Game

is it a hit by pitch or ball if the ball hits the ground on the pitch then hits the batter

by Gary Nordick

Photo Bill Stanton:

Photo Bill Stanton:

Gary asked: Pitch hits ground then batter is it a ball or hit by pitch?

Rick answered: Gary, thank you for your question.

The rule covering this situation is 2.0: A ball is a pitch which does not enter the strike zone in flight and is not struck at by the batter.

2.0 (Ball) Comment: If the pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone, it is a "ball". If such a pitch touches the batter, the ball becomes dead and he shall be awarded first base.

It is recorded as a hit by pitch.

Yours in baseball,


Comments for is it a hit by pitch or ball if the ball hits the ground on the pitch then hits the batter

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Oct 11, 2016
Hit by pitch rules
by: Marie B.

This just happened in Dodgers/Washington playoff game.
The ball bounced on the ground, then hit the batter. I've never seen that called a hit by pitch....Since when did that become a rule? You can't predict how the ball will bounce! What an idiotic rule! Jeeeeeez!

Aug 28, 2016
by: Anonymous

Thanks Rick

May 07, 2016
ball hits ground pitched then hit
by: Anonymous

Ball hits ground then batter hits ball, what is that called?

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.

Spalding, Old Time Bat Display

[?] Subscribe To This Site

follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines

Louisville Sluggers. 1920's

Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!

Copyright© All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© All Rights Reserved.