The Ole Ball Game

Is batter out

by Matty
(Congers, NY )

Legal catch, or foul ball?

Legal catch, or foul ball?

Matty asked: On a 3 & 2 count the batter foul tips the ball back to the catcher, who puts his glove facing his chest to get the ball pinned to his chest. Is the batter out?


Batter is out if...

2. A third strike is legally caught by the catcher.

Rule 5.09 (a) (2) "Legally caught" means in the catcher's glove before the ball touches the ground.

It is not legal if the ball lodges in his clothing or paraphernalia; or if it touches the umpire and is caught by the catcher on the rebound.

If a foul tip first strikes the catcher's glove and then goes on through and is caught by both hands against his body, or protector, before the ball touches the ground, it is a strike, and if third strike, batter is out. If smothered against his body or protector, it is a catch provided the ball struck the catcher's glove or hand first.

Based on your description, the ball off the bat did not touch the catcher's glove or hand, prior to hitting his chest.

If that part is correct, then the batter is not out.

If the ball did hit either the catcher's glove or hand before it hit his chest and was subsequently pinned there, it is a legal catch and the batter is out.

All determined by that initial touch off the bat, or no touch.


Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.