Is a baserunner out when he gets hit by a ground ball behind a fielder who lets the ball go through his legs?
Is A Runner Out If He Gets Hit By Batted Ball Behind Infielder?
Charlie asked:Is a base runner out when he gets hit by a ground ball behind a fielder who lets the ball go through his legs?
Rick answered: Charlie, thank you for your question.
The rule which covers this situation is:
Batter Or Runner Interference, Rule 6.01
11) If a fair ball goes through, or by, an infielder, and touches a runner immediately back of him, or touches a runner after having been deflected by a fielder, the umpire shall not declare the runner out for being touched by a batted ball.
In making such decision the umpire must be convinced that the ball passed through, or by, the fielder and that no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball.
If, in the judgment of the umpire, the runner deliberately and intentionally kicks such a batted ball which the infielder has missed a play, then the runner shall be called out for interference.
Penalty For Interference: Runner is out and the ball is dead.
Sometimes these interference calls can become difficult to sort out. Everything is happening at full speed, and all sorts of bizarre things will sometimes develop.
This one appears to be pretty straight up. Fielder missed the ball, it went through and hit the runner going behind him, the runner would not be out unless he, in the umpire's judgment, intentionally kicked the ball, or there was another infielder who had an chance to make a play on this ball.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.